Another Look at September 11th, 2001

First of all, I must apologize to everyone for this post being three days late.  I’ve been extremely occupied lately, but I feel an innate obligation to make a post about this topic.  There’s just something inside me that feels a desire to recall the events of September 11th, 2001.

I was five years old at the time.  To be completely honest, I remember absolutely nothing about the day.  I don’t remember seeing the terrorist attacks on the television screen.  I don’t remember the teachers crying and struggling to explain to the children why.  I don’t remember the tragedy and sense of negative awe that vibrated throughout the air.  Despite this unfortunate emotional setback my deficient long-term memory has caused, I can still recall the events of 9/11 via informational sources such as newspapers and websites.  Looking at images of the Twin Towers as they were burning still makes me choke up – which is amazing when one thinks about it.  I did not personally know anyone involved in the attacks, victim or rescuer.  And yet, my heart thumps in my chest whenever those pictures of violent explosions and shattered glass and crumbling ruins pass across my eyes.  The loss of life is still unfathomable to me.  I can’t locate the words to express my grief and sorrow for those that perished on 9/11 (and those related to those who perished).  Therefore, what I shall say is simply a rather primitive motto that I believe articulates accurately my point: Never Forget.

Besides the obvious emotional impact, the events of September 11th, 2001, have had agitating impacts on U.S foreign relations.  Just look at the U.S ambassadors killed very recently in Libya.  Reaction to September 11th in the Middle East has also been very emotional, but on the polar opposite end of the spectrum – U.S antagonism has skyrocketed in Middle Eastern countries after September 11th, 2oo1.  There were four U.S. ambassadors that were killed in these recent attacks in Libya, and extremists refuse to stop at that point: now they are rioting against U.S embassies in Yemen and Egypt.  I avoid labeling these extremists as radical; I attempt to view them as completely sane people who have become devoted to a very specific cause.  After all, the influence of U.S. popular culture on Middle Eastern countries has conflicted with many Islamic cultural values – for example, the conflict involving Barbie dolls in Iran.  However, I do personally despise the Middle Eastern extremists’ apparent lack of social empathy.  No matter how much one personally despises the red, white, and blue colors of the American flag, how is it even possible to thoughtlessly kill thousands of human lives without any sense of remorse?  The absence of any sort of placating effort by Middle Easterners is appalling.  Humans are humans, and certain people on this love really need to begin comprehending how to love.

Leave a Reply

