A Deeper Look at an E-Rated Video Game – The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask

My last few blogs have been essentially rants about topics I despise.  Therefore, I decided that this particular blog shall be about something I enjoy.  Particularly, video games.  Even more particularly, The Legend of Zelda:  Majora’s Mask.  Despite being rated “E for everyone” by the ESRB, the game is the one of the most emotionally deep, emotionally dark, most tearjerking games I have ever had the honor of playing.  One of the themes that stands out most for me from Majora’s Mask is the concept of the five stages of grief, also known as the Kubler-Ross model.  Recently, I read a very comprehensive analysis online about how Majora’s Mask correlates so closely to this model.

In Rumphol-Jac‘s analysis, He describes the specific ways in which each of the five stages of grief are displayed throughout the video game.  For blogging purposes, I shall explain in my own words how Majora’s Mask is related to one of the stages of grief, denial.  For those wishing to know more about the correlation, please read Rumphol-Jac’s article.  It is a thought-provoking read, and I encourage anyone who is interested to take a ponder.

In the beginning of the game, Link, the protagonist, is looking for a lost friend.  Losing this friend is what has caused the grief for Link.  After several hours trudging through the forest, an imp-like creature attacks Link, and steals Link’s horse and Link’s ocarina (a musical instrument – let’s just say it was very precious to Link).  Link follows the imp-like creature, and, long-story-short, ends up in a parallel dimension.  In this parallel dimension, this imp-like creature, known as Skull Kid, has placed a curse upon the moon in the sky.  This moon will fall in three days’ time.  This is the main “problem” of the game; basically, Link’s ultimate goal is to stop the moon from falling.  But Skull Kid’s evil powers have extended far beyond just the moon; the entire earthly world itself has been thrown into chaos, especially those living in Clock Town.

The first stage of grief is denial.  The residents of Clock Town, the game’s central location, are in denial that the moon will fall and continue their daily business despite the looming danger overhead.  Rumphol-Jac uses this quote from the game to reflect upon the Clock Town residents’ grief state:

You cowards! Do you actually believe the moon will fall? The confused townsfolk simply caused a panic by believing this ridiculous, groundless theory. The soldiers couldn’t prevent the panic, but outside the town walls is where the danger is! You want answers? The answer is that the carnival should not be canceled!  If the soldiers wish to run, then run, Viscen! We councilmen will stick to tradition. This carnival will be a success! I’ve never heard of a defense unit abandoning its town!”

– Clock Town Mayor

Essentially, the Mayor’s speech is a long metaphor revealing his denial that the town is in any sort of peril.


Just one more thought on the subject: if one thinks about it, the name “Clock Town” itself it a reminder of the game’s main plot point:  no matter what you do, whevever you go in the video game, time is always ticking, and in three days, that moon shall “Consume…consume everything” (quote belongs to the Moon itself).

If you are an avid video gamer, I highly, highly, encourage you to play The Legend of Zelda: Majora’s Mask.  Its mind-twisting, thought-provoking, emotionally-stirring plot will hook you; and like me, and many others (at least on the internet), you may just consider it the best video game ever.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s